March comes in like a lion: Ground Level

Alright I know I’m very late to the party on this one, now that there are 16 episodes out and all. Regardless, I still wanted to talk about this one really quick.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this anime. I pretty much saw how much people were loving it without actually looking into it, I didn’t want spoilers if it was so good. So finally I just jumped in and watched the first few episodes.

Honestly, I’m enjoying it so far. The pacing is very slow and I think how the plot progresses, this is an advantage. This show wants you to notice subtle details. Like having a solo shot of just him grabbing his glasses, the director wants to put emphasis on the fact that he struggles and doesn’t really want to do anything.

I’ve never played Shogi before but it looks a lot like chess. Which I love playing. I’m very bad, but I love the game. From the first 2 episodes, I got very heavy Your lie in April vibes from this show. It’s a mixture of the similar artwork, pacing, and the fact that I started watching both when the shows were halfway thru their airing duration.70a9d7557ed86c69e63bd82e8626515b1475958237_full.jpg

From what I can gather so far, he’s a pro Shogi player and considered a genius. Unlike in your lie in April, when he won tournaments when he was young, he wanted to make friends but ended up driving them away. His parents passed away when he was young, for a reason I don’t think they’ve specified yet.

Not a lot has been dived into yet. I think the director wants to set this mood and keep it this way until the eventual climax of the plot. I have no problems about this way of directing. It’s a breath of fresh air from the types of shows I’ve been watching recently.

I want to keep this post short and sweet. Much like how the first couple episodes have felt like for this anime. I’m really looking forward to continuing this series and seeing what it has to offer. I wonder if it will make me cry like Your Lie In April did? Without too many spoilers, what do you guys think? Is it worth continuing? Let me know in the comments. I love talking about these types of shows.

I hope you enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

