Masamune-kun’s Revenge ep. 1-4 Ground Level

Finally! I have the weekend off of work and I was able to sit in my chair with a cup of coffee and do some anime watching. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to do this.

I was sure what to expect from this anime to be honest. I quick read the first few lines of the summary and just said, “screw it” and started watching it. I immediately knew how the story is going to end up just from the summary, I’m sure all of you felt that way if you’ve watched the first episode. For this show, it’s not about keeping you in suspense about how it is going to end but more of how is the show going to get to the end.

Masamune-kun’s Revenge is a romantic comedy about Masamune fighting to win Aki Adagaki’s heart… then dump her. Need a little more backstory?

When he was young, he was chubby and constantly picked on by bullies. He was friends with Aki Adagaki during this time as well but when he confessed his feeling to her, she rejected him coldly and called him “pigs foot”. A name that would haunt him for years until he eventually left his home town to be with his grandfather who put him on a exercise diet which effectively turned him into a sexy stud.

Now, 8 years after he first left his home town, he’s returned back with one mission. Make Aki Adagaki fall in love with him, only to dump her so she can feel the pain he felt years ago. He arrives at school on the first day to find out how much she has changed, or lack thereof. She has garnered the nickname ice princess for her cruel ways of rejecting boys who confess their love for her. Currently she does not remember who he is, so he is operating under the radar to catch her by surprise.

10-anime-similar-to-masamune-kun-no-revenge-recommendations_1484478108-b
Oh boy. A dense AND bold female protagonist! Is that allowed in anime?

After sizing up his mission and quickly being in over his head. He begins seeking aid from her maid, Yoshino Koiwai. Who remembers who he used to be. She essentially is keeping the 3rd and 4th episode moving. Aki is too dense and prideful to act on her feelings and Masamune takes too much advice from romance shojo manga to not come off as super creepy.

Episode 4 ends with Aki being saved by Masamune from an oncoming car. Things get a little steemy when Masamune says to aki, “I don’t know what I would do without you!” with Aki just about to confess her love. Only to have the driver of the car get out and check on them. Which is to be expected… but things stray off course when the woman says a prayer that she finally found her love, Masamune and hugs him immediately. Let the misunderstanding begin!

I was immediately immersed into this show from the beginning. I’ve always liked the kind of romance that incorporates other women into the show but just keeps them at arms length because the main plot of the story needs to progress. Cliche things like the misunderstanding at the end of episode 4 are a little annoying because I just know the entirety of episode 5 is going to be clearing up the misunderstanding but I’ll just have to deal with it.

It’s definitely not for everyone. It has ecchi/ harem vibes with fanservice. There are definitely lackluster moments and the comedy can come off a little forced at times but if you want a romantic comedy that doesn’t make you think too much and actually has a popular male protagonist (who has other girls confess their love to him), this is the show for you!

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Karandi says:

    Aki’s falling in love with him already? That went quick. I didn’t get passed the first episode of this one but I kind of thought they’d drag that out a bit longer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. samreality says:

      She was doing the stuttering I-I-I love you bit in her head before they were interrupted. I’m happy the pace is moving fast, I’m assuming it’s gonna be a 12 ep series so it makes me happy they aren’t going to drag it out. I’m hoping the fast pace means it won’t have an open ending at the end of the show.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Karandi says:

        The stuttering I love you trope. Oh well. I wonder how long until she actually says it and then I wonder if Masamune will actually try to break her heart. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on future episodes.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. samreality says:

        I’m a little nervous about how they’re gonna go about this but I’m remaining hopeful. The characters are likable at least. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

