My Little Monster Vol. 1: Ground Level

While out at my local bookstore (several months ago) I noticed that the final volume of My Little Monster is out. I really loved the anime and have been wanting to read the manga to see how it all ends but I hate waiting for volumes to come out. Now that they’re all released I picked up the first volume, I actually went back the next day and bought volume 2 and 3 as well. I know I’ll end up getting the next few volumes soon too. My favorite genre of anime and manga is romance but it can’t be too shojo-ish if you know what I mean. This first volume is right up my alley. It has a nice blend of humor and romance. Sprinkle in useless fights that are really funny and you have me hooked.

This is probably one of, if not, my favorite romance manga I have started reading so far. The story is about a girl, Shizuku Mizutani, and her endless quest to get perfect scores on tests and be the smartest student and a boy, Haru Yoshida, who is brash, violent, and a frequent delinquent at school. Did I say frequent? I meant every single day since the ceremony at the beginning of the year. One day Shizuku is told to bring homework over to Haru’s home since he never shows up for class.

She does so and doesn’t think much of it and brings the homework there as a favor to the teacher. Who is deathly afraid of Haru, which we find out why pretty soon after. From there, she brings the homework over and is sucked into the crazy life of Haru.

6c26e78294dee17e8729fefef7bf1106f324cb81_hq
They look like they’re heads of the mob.

I really like how they create the mood, the story, and their formula. After the first chapter, we basically are given what the ultimate outcome of the story will be. But… we then work backwards and move the story like the outcome is set in stone but all events leading up the end are about as predictable as Haru’s sudden outbursts of aggression.

It’s very different than most romance stories I’ve seen and read about. I also like the characters. Yeah, they are a little cliche but at some point all inventive characters turn cliche after a while.

I like the way Haru acts, it’s so pure and formless. It just happens, he lives life without time or constraints. I envy him a little. Mizutani’s life plan and goals are too rigid. I hope that she eventually learns to lighten up a little bit and let her hair down. I wouldn’t mind that. I wonder what her hair would look like without twin tails? A-a-anyway I’m getting off topic now, I think this is a wonderful manga and am excited to get on to the next volume. I definitely recommend this manga to anyone who enjoys romance manga with dumb jokes and funny facial expressions.

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Karandi says:

    I find it interesting that characters who have a clear plan are always seen as too rigid or needing to relax when in Mizutani’s case she is kind of happy doing what she’s doing. It isn’t like she’s depressed or hates her life. She’s content with her successes.
    That doesn’t change that I loved the anime of this story. And I like that even Mizutani’s changes don’t change that she’s still a hard worker striving for success.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. samreality says:

      True. Hard working is admirable and a great quality but there’s a point where focusing on one thing so much that other parts of you start diminishing. Having a clear plan is good but you can’t focus entirely on that, that’s when the burnout factor comes into play. It might not hit her in high school but once she gets to college… it’ll hit hard.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. samreality says:

      Thanks for sharing. I never thought I could draw similarities between mizutani and I but I guess I can. Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

