What makes… A dank meme? Welcoming in the new year…

Hello Everyone! I hope you all had a great winter break. For all of you prepping and getting in a quick cry before the new semester, I’m right there with you.
So does anyone have a new year’s resolution they would like to share? One of mine is to run a marathon. I also want to read at least 15 books for fun. Let me know what kind of big plans you have for this year!
Now, time for some serious talk…
According to a google search on “meme” its definition is: An element of a culture or system of behavior that may be considered to be passed from one individual to another by nongenetic means, especially imitation.
  • a humorous image, video, piece of text, etc., that is copied (often with slight variations) and spread rapidly by Internet users

The definition of “dank” is mainly for the use when things are cold, moist, and on the verge of mold. “A dank basement.”

So what does dank really mean? This definition is completely opinion based but in general dank can be narrowed down a little. Dank refers to an article (whether it be a blog post, picture, gif, comic, news story, popular talking piece) that, to the reader or person witnessing said article, believes it to be hilarious, crass, and a discreet (sometimes) way of social commentary.

Dank has also started to have its own recipe. Dank can be used both ironically and un-ironically. The lines between the two can be blurred very fast. I believe that the more it’s used, the more it becomes a staple for the latter, un-ironic. Back in the mid to late 2000’s, no-scopes and small audio bits of kids screaming in Call Of Duty was the very definition of dank. And some argue that it still is. Now, it has been so overused, it is recreated as a form of irony and mocking what was funny back then.

Being ironic can still be funny, but it has it’s limits on how far it can go. Does anyone remember the #wastehertime meme at the very beginning of 2016? I do, and it died faster than David Bowe did. I don’t know how it blew up but it died within a week. There wasn’t much structure to it and with the rise of feminism and social justice warriors, the feedback was hilarious but not enough to carry the meme farther than a week at best.

Would #wastehertime be considered dank? To me, no. But to others maybe. When you take dank and meme and put it together you get a dank meme. Dank by itself is almost more used as a way of just convincing someone to look at some shitty joke on the internet. A dank meme however, is more set in ironic stone that it can’t get out of it.

“Hey man, come check out this dank meme.” If you here that, I hedge my bets that it’s going to be something recent that very few understand. OR it could be something funny has been able to stand the test of time. Pepe the frog is one meme that may not be considered dank but it has definitely been around and relevant for far longer than any other meme has.

I think if a meme can stay around long enough, it can be considered dank. It’s the perfect equation. (Time*humor)/reddit upvotes = dank meme level

I honestly don’t know why I wrote about this. I’m just finally getting my college classes figured out and I just returned back to work in a new department at my job. Things have been hectic, no doubt about that. I also have an important presentation to give next week that has been taking up all my time and effort.

I swear, more (and questionably better) blog posts will be out soon. My couple weeks off were great and I got a lot of stuff done. But I’m ready to get my anime addiction back and catch up on what I’ve missed. But seriously, I’d love to hear from you guys. What is your new year’s resolution? Are there any from last year that you are working on still? I know have some I’m still working on…

Let me know in the comments below!

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

