My second blogging award!

Oh my goodness, another award already?! Thank you so much Raislin0903 for nominating me for this award. I am extremely grateful and am glad you find my content enjoyable. I’ve started to notice more activity lately which has surprised me since I’ve been so inactive lately, but please know that I am eternally grateful for it! Let’s begin…

Rules

  • Thank the person(s) who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo on your post and/or on your blog

1. How long have you been blogging, and what made you get started in the first place?

I started blogging in February of this year. The main reason I started blogging was someone I knew in college did lifestyle blogging, that is what exposed me to WordPress and the idea of blogging. My concept of blogging was lifestyle and travel, not anime. But during this time I was increasing the amount of seasonal anime I was watching and this popped into my head at least 10 times, “I should do reviews of this. I’ve watched enough anime now, I have some good opinions and criticisms about the anime I’m watching.” I started mainly because I just wanted to get my opinions out because I have no one IRL that watches anime. I wanted to connect to an anime community since there wasn’t one at my college or in my city for that matter. It was also around the time I hit 100 watched shows on MAL. I felt like I knew anime fairly well to provide constructive criticism to the shows I talk about.

2. Say that you could interview someone on your blog, who would it be, and why him/her?

I’m assuming you mean alive so… they are completely unrelated to anime but I would interview Stephen King. I’m a huge fan of his books. I recently finished Dr. Sleep. I might do a review of it, I might not, I’m unsure. I would love to pick his brain about his method of writing, how he crafted his unique style, and what made him decide to become an author. As I’ve said before in previous posts, I’ve struggled with finding my life’s passion and what I want to do after graduation. Seeing what made him decide to go into a profession that doesn’t have a big market and not a lot of job security would help me further solidify what I should pursue in my life. For someone I would interview who is dead, General Oliver P. Smith. He was the commander of the 1st marine division during the Battle of Chosin Reservoir during the Korean War. He retired at the rank of a 4 star general.

3. What is your favorite Anime/Movie/TV show of all time?

My favorite anime is a 3-way tie between Yowamushi Pedal, Your Lie in April, and Neon Genesis Evangelion. My favorite movie is probably the first Rambo movie or Toy Story. I had Toy Story back when it was on VHS and I’m surprised it still works and plays the movie, I must’ve watched that movie at least 300 times when I was younger. My favorite TV show hands down is 24 with Kiefer Sutherland. I loved the premise of the show and all the action. It’s the only show other than House that I watched when it was airing each week. I normally just bit the bullet and waited for the DVD to go on sale.

4. Do you own any merchandise? If so, what is the thing that you like the most in your collection?

I’m assuming you’re not including manga and light novels, I have a full book case of that. The only merchandise I own is a couple sweaters for Attack on Titan and My Neighbor Totoro. But my favorite thing is this little key chain for Yowamushi Pedal that I got at the National Manga Museum in Kyoto Japan, Which you can read about… here when I actually upload it. XD

5. Is there anything you would like to do someday, but just have not yet been able to accomplish?

I have so many things I have done while I’ve been in Hong Kong. I’ve also filmed a lot of it, I want to start a vlogging YouTube channel. That means I need decent editing software, which is damn near impossible to find on campus in Hong Kong for some reason. So I’m looking for some good software to start editing my vlogs and uploading them. Which costs money, the money I could be using to travel. You see the debacle I’m in? If/when this happens, you all will be the first to know! You’ll finally see what I look like! I’m a sexy bitch if I do say so myself. XD

6. What is the post you are most proud of, and why is that?

The post I’m most proud of would be my When anime hits home post. I put a lot of effort into this post and I did a lot of thinking for it. I was not in a good place personally so writing my feelings about how anime helped me out was really therapeutic. I’m also proud of Thought prisons as well. I’m a pretty spiritual person so writing about this concept was a lot of fun and from being nominated for my last award because of that post, it makes me even more proud that people enjoyed it.

7. Has there ever been a post on your blog that you have regretted writing? If so, why is that?

I wouldn’t say regret but at the very beginning of this blog I talked about Deadman Wonderland. It was a review of the manga and it was like my 3rd post ever. So I still had no idea what I was doing. I don’t regret posting it but looking back I wish I would have put a little more thought into it and conveyed my feelings for it a little more fluently. The structure of my posts back then were too rigid and completely different from how I blog now. I might rewrite it and talk about deadman wonderland again sometime.

8. Why did you get interested in Movies/Anime?

That’s a really hard question to answer, I’m not really sure. My first real anime was old school YuGiOh back in the day but back then it was the 4kids dub so I didn’t even think of it as anime. My sophmore year of college I watched Romeo X Juliet on Funimation’s YouTube channel but never watched anything else after that for a while. A number of months later I stumbled upon a website called KissAnime when I saw something for Clanned on YouTube in my related section. I started watching it on YouTube but they didn’t have the full show on YouTube so I searched around the internet for it and found it on KissAnime. It looked interesting so I started to watch it. I was fascinated that a “cartoon” (please don’t kill me in the comments, this is old Sam we’re talking about) could provide such an adult story line.

After the second season ended I was left with a hole in my heart that I’m sure everyone felt after watching it. From there I just moved from anime to anime. By then I was hooked and watching an insane amount everyday before I left for work. Work and watch anime was all I did that Summer. I have no regrets. Another thing that pulled me into anime was the ability to convey depressing and dark things. Western media is nothing like that, with the exception of a few shows. A lot of western media is so sugar coated, I want a realistic ending. Not a copout ending where miraculously the main character avoids death and everyone lives happily ever after. Seeing Clannad punch me in the face with what I’ve wanted so much from western media. I was hooked immediately.

9. Do you have any goals that you would like to ultimately achieve with your blog?

First, I need to schedule my time (and my life) so I can blog more. Once that is figured out I want to create a segment for people to theory craft with me and get other perspectives on things. That’s the main reason I started (and failed) reviewing seasonal anime on an episodic basis. I wanted to get other people’s opinion on what was going to happen next. It’s what keeps me sane while I wait for the next episode to drop.

10. What if you could star in your own Anime/Movie? What kind of Anime/Movie would it be, and who would you play?

I’ve played around with this idea before. I would want to play in a movie where I am faced with a huge tragedy, like all my family being killed by the mafia and me slowly seeking revenge or being hated for something and working my way to the top like in a fight style movie (I just realized that completely sounds like Naruto’s and Sasuke’s back story. Totally not what I was going for tho). It sounds generic but done my way, it wouldn’t be (of course mine wouldn’t be generic). I like movies and anime with a sharp goal etched out too. That’s why I can’t get into super hero movies. They’re always making more of them so everything is ambiguous and open ended. My movie or anime would have a clear goal and clear end for the most part. I’m a fan of sad movies and anime, there is a sense of realism in them that I enjoy. Build emotion to the characters and the story, reach the climax, and kill the main character for a realistic reason. So that’s how it would be. Dark, sad and filled with tragedy… sounds like fun for the whole family. I think that’s what draws me so much to Romeo and Juliet, my two favorite genres; romance and tragedy.

11. What was the worst Anime/Movie that you have ever seen?

Does Hentai count? just kidding. I don’t tend to watch things if I think I won’t like it. I will look at a movie or show, read about the concept and if it doesn’t hook me, I won’t watch it. But one anime I was completely disappointed with would probably be 11 eyes. It started alright, had some good buildup. Plot was lackluster and plot holes were prominent but that’s to be expected, I didn’t go in expecting too much based on the MAL reviews. But the ending was such a F*cking disaster that it totally ruined the entire show. I can’t even remember the ending, that’s how much I’ve blocked it from my memory. When it comes to movies, any movie with Amy Schumer in it. I really don’t find her funny nor do I think she is good at acting.

Now then, I won’t be nominating anyone for this award. A lot of the bloggers I follow and read on a daily basis that I feel deserve this award have already received this award. I don’t want to purposely renominate people and I don’t want to give it to someone simply because I couldn’t find 11 people to nominate. I am very grateful to be nominated for this award but it must be earned. You earn an award, they don’t just hand them out. I know I might be taking this very seriously but if I nominate someone who I don’t even know or follow, it’ gonna be obvious what I am doing and that’s really gonna sting the person I nominated. I want someone to award me for my hard work and what I have to show for it. I didn’t earn this award if the person gave it to me simply because they couldn’t find someone better to nominate. Thanks again for the nomination and all the support you all have given me over these past months! Your comments and likes brighten my day all the time!

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    What a great post: you have definitely put a lot of thought and effort into this indeed 😀 You have good taste: 24 used to be my favorite alltime tv show: the walking Dead has now surpassed that one, but not by much. There is a new 24 coming:called 24 Legacy. Unfortunately it does not feature Jack Bauer, so I don’t know if it will be good. I did read that Tony Almeida might make an appearance which would be good. As for the rest of your post, loved reading through it. Keep up the great work, and good luck with your blog 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. samreality says:

      Thanks again man! You’re the best! 😊Walking dead is a good show too, but I can’t watch it in HK unfortunately. I’ll have to look into the new 24 but without jack Bauer, I don’t know if I’ll like it too much.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Karandi says:

    I forgot about 11 Eyes. Yeah, that was terrible and I’d previously managed to forget it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. samreality says:

      Sorry to bring back bad memories. Hopefully you don’t have any Vietnam flashbacks because of it. Haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. YahariBento says:

    Congratulations for the award, @Sam Reality. :3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

