I have arrived back in Hong Kong Safely… Update

Hello everyone, I hope all is well. I just got back from my 8 days of being off the grid. The first 3 days were spent in Beijing and the last 5 days were spent in the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, AKA North Korea or DPRK.

You may be thinking that I am crazy! Well… I kind of am.

This is going to be a short post, I just wanted to quickly get the word out since my social media has been inactive all week. This big trip was during the last regular week of classes for me, so as you can imagine. I missed a lot of stuff. 3 exams, a quiz, and a presentation to be exact. That’s not including the exams and presentations I have this week. Kill me please ;_;

Anyway, I will do an entire series about my trip later this week. Once the heat dies down and I finish all my exams. I will be finishing up my Japan trip series first though.

20161122_134609
The first picture I took of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

My 3 days in Beijing were filled with mixed feelings. Beijing is a scam filled city, I have some great scam stories to tell as well. After that, Tuesday morning I got on the plane to head into North Korea. The plane ride some rough turbulence but I’ve had worse so it wasn’t a problem. There were some less experienced flyers on the trip that were freaking out. I felt bad for them but I laughed at the same time. I’m a terrible person.

We were met in the capital of North Korea around 5 pm. Customs was a nightmare. They checked everything, my books, my bags, the electronics, my clothes. They wanted to know everything I had and then some. I got the most physical pat down I’ve ever had in my life by this tiny Korean women about 2/3rd’s my height. It didn’t help that I was American so they gave me an excessive pat down and baggage check. Good way to start the trip.

All will be dived into more deeply in the coming weeks. I’m super swamped with classes now that regular class is over and finals period has started. Please be patient and I will reward you all with some juicy stories.

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Mel & Suan says:

    Wow, someday we will muster the time and courage and do the DPRK trip. For now we are not eager to bring tourism dollars to them just yet!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. samreality says:

      Haha understandable. It’s definitely worth at least one trip. To finally see it first hand was eye opening.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mel & Suan says:

        We’re sure you have been “tailed” all the time!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. samreality says:

        Yeah probably. You’re not allowed to do anything without the local guides. You only see what they want you to see.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Mel & Suan says:

        ugh. Guess the DPRK is not the place for independent travellers! LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      4. samreality says:

        Sometimes it’s the luck of the draw. My local Korean guides were super chill and gave us more freedom than I expected.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    Nice, looking forward to reading about the experiences you had,and ofcourse: welcome back ! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elisabeth O'Neill says:

    Wow, certainly sounds like you had quite the experience. Good to hear you got back safe, looking forward to reading the full story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

