My Japan trip: day 2

So After arriving at the hotel at about 4 in the morning. I ate breakfast at about 9 am and left to get on the train. Yupp, I only got about 4 hours of sleep. But that’s ok. I got all my stuff packed up as quick as a could and darted out the door. I passed my key off to the clerk at the desk (I thanked him immensely for waiting for me till 4 am and went into their cafe for a quick breakfast. It really was a quick breakfast, it was one scrambled egg, a piece of toast, and a cup of coffee. I’ve been in Asia for two months now and will continue to say this; I hate their portion sizes! No wonder no one is overweight here. No one can afford to.

After my breakfast I walked through some side streets to get to the train station. Lucky for me, I didn’t plan this either, there was a train station less than a 10 minute walk away. Once I go there I chilled, got my bearing together, and took some pictures. After spending about 10 minutes staring at the train map, I decided to ask for help. One of the train workers knew enough English to help buy me a ticket. I thanked her repeatedly. I worked my way up to the tracks, I waited for about 15 minutes before I got on. I didn’t know this at the time but I got on the wrong train, it was going in the same direction but I was on the local train. Meaning it stopped at every stop. The one I was supposed to get on was essentially a bullet train, it only stopped at 3 stations. So it took me a good 30 minutes before I realized this so I go off at the next station the bullet train was going to be and got on that one.

dsc_0128
The train was one-part comfortable seats and one-part too short for me to stand.

I may have gotten on the slower train but in all honesty I’m glad I did. I got to see Osaka at a slower pace and was able to take more pictures of it all. It was a truly beautiful area and I’m so glad I got to take it all in.

I finally arrived in Kyoto at about 4 in the afternoon. I left the train station to see a huge 5 lane intersection. It was insane, I’ve never seen such a huge intersection that isn’t on the highway. Anyway, while I was taking pictures I saw a bookstore and “booked” it over there. Ah, get it? puns… I’ll stop now. I looked around and everything was manga! It was heaven. I had to buy one but there were so many that I didn’t know which one to get. After not being able to find the most recent volume of Tokyo ghoul Re: I bought the final volume of Nisekoi. Probably one of my favorite romantic-comedy manga out there. Kinda sad it ended but all good things must come to an end.

dsc_0295
The tall building on the left is where the book store was.

After I was done fanboying in the store, I went back out into the intersection and looked around for buses. I found a WiFi network and booted up google maps to find out what bus I needed to get on. After much frustration I found the right bus. I spent about 45 minutes on the bus, my hotel was way off the beaten path. That’s why I picked it.

Once I got off the bus the bus driver kept trying to tell me something and pointing to my right. After about 3 or 4 times of him shouting it at me, he gave up and drove away. It wasn’t until the bus left that I realized what he was trying to tell me. There was a sign on the other side of road pointing to where my hotel was. The driver was yelling at me so I wouldn’t go in the wrong direction. Not knowing whether he saw it or not. I gave the bus driver a thumbs up letting him know I got his encrypted message. The hotel wasn’t too far away either thankfully. At this point I’ve spent most of my day on the road and on my feet. Not to mention lugging around my camping bag and camera bag. I traveled a total of 96 Kilometers today from hotel to hotel. It probably took me about 4-5 solid hours of traveling for me to actually get to my hotel. A good 3 hours longer than it should have but you know, whatever. How I got there and what I saw was much more special to me than getting there as fast as possible.

I arrived at the hotel and this really pretty Japanese woman greets me and checks me in. She knew virtually no English so pantomiming with our hands was our silly form of communication for the evening. I got into my room and unpacked, laid down and nearly passed out from exhaustion. Once I felt strong enough, I went down for dinner and had some food. It was delicious, it was Donburi. Donburi is scrambled egg on top of rice with a few other small ingredients from what I understand.

After the food energized my body, I went for a walk, I saw a seven eleven up the road while on the bus. I’ve seen enough anime, I want to know if it actually looks like it does in the anime. It really does too. The one I went to looked a lot like the convenience store at the beginning of Re: Zero before he’s transported to a new world. I bought a sweet bun w/cinnamon on it and an ice cream cone. I’m not an ice cream kind of guy but for some reason, every chance I got I bought a vanilla or coffee flavored ice cream cone. I bought more ice cream while on this trip than I have living in Hong Kong combined. Not to say it’s any better than Hong Kong or American ice cream for that matter. But I’m getting on a tangent now. Anyway…

dsc_0384
The similarities are uncanny.

I walked back to my hotel and took some night photography while walking. It was really peaceful and calm out, I was staying in an older part of Kyoto. I saw very few young people while I was in this area. I think more people were afraid of me than I was of them. A bunch of old Japanese people vs. a 6′ 2″ american man. Probably wouldn’t end to well… for them that is. Just kidding. Too much?

I ended my night at the hotel just lying down and slowly turning each page of the first chapter in the manga I bought so I wouldn’t spoil myself too much. I spent most of my day on the train, getting on and off train lines in order to transfer to the right place. I must say, traveling by train is crazy expensive. I probably spent a fourth of my budget on paying for trains, subways, and buses alone. The food didn’t make it any better either.

A little side note, my hotel was totally not what I expected. I spent a very small amount of money for the two nights I stayed there, so I was expecting a very small room in a cramped space but it wasn’t! It was an amazing Japanese style room. Sliding door and all! It even had the table with the heater underneath for keeping the food warm! Again I was in heaven. The only gripe I had was it was rather dusty in some spots of the room. Other than that, it was amazing! The hotel room looked a lot like the room in Clannad, the one Nagisa and Tomoya lived in.

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Another great read. I am seeing so much posts on Japan these days, I can never read up on it enough. I very much hope to see it myself one day. And completely unrelated (lol) I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award: you can find it right here : https://raistlin0903.wordpress.com/2016/11/04/ive-been-nominated-for-the-sunshine-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. samreality says:

      Wow! Thank you so much! I greatly appreciate it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. raistlin0903 says:

        You are very welcome, and it is well deserved 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

