Funimation and CrunchyRoll partner up?

With me studying abroad in Hong Kong, I haven’t had a lot of time to keep up with all the anime news that’s piling up on Anime News Network. But even I have time to look into this new revelation. Funimation and Crunchyroll have decided to partner together to bring English speaking anime fans more anime goodness than we should be able to handle, but let’s be honest, we can handle it and more.orange-subtitle-indonesia

Essentially if you don’t know what’s going on, if you’ve been living under a rock like I have the last couple days, Funimation will be streaming Crunchyroll shows and movies and vice versa, that means Crunchyroll can stream Cowboy Bebop now! On top of that Crunchyroll will be able to stream dubbed anime on their platform and Funimation can begin simulcast dubs for seasonal shows like Orange and Mob Psycho 100.

I wasn’t as excited about this news as most anime fans were. Why? I can’t enjoy all the anime goodness right now! I’m in Hong Kong so my laptop and phone are region locked, but you can bet your bank account on it that when I get back to the states I will binge for a whole weekend! I’m extremely happy about the news. I also saw that Funimation will be lowering their price for paid subscriptions as well.

ueea6sa
*crying internally* I can’t enjoy the anime goodness!!! ;_;

It’s really nice to see two companies do this. In most competitive markets, all companies are competing to be the best and fighting against their competition. It’s nice to see two companies coming together to bring their fan base and their community something we love so very much. For most of us, money isn’t an issue (I mean $5.99 is so cheap it’s not even funny, you can’t call yourself an anime fan and complain about that pricing structure). Those of us who really love anime, watch it and review it really have no issue paying for a subscription to both companies. Especially since we know it benefits the creators of the shows and movies. So for them to drop the price and expand their vast anime libraries really can attest to the amount of passion each respective company has to bringing joy to those who find joy in anime.

I wonder if this is going to create a monopoly over the industry (monopoly refers to one sole company basically owning the industry and being able to do whatever they want since they are the only business around)? There are not many other companies that do this. Netflix is probably their biggest competitor, streaming wise. Sentai filmworks and Aniplex both do home box office releases so I wonder if people will start switching more towards the streaming aspect now that it has become even more readily available. Only time will tell. That’s all for now, a nice little short entry. Let me know what you think about this new partnership. They won’t be merging companies and I’m glad they aren’t. I don’t think that would be good for business or for the industry for that matter. Do you think so too? Or should they merge their companies and have one solid hub filled to brim of anime awesomeness? Let me know in the comments.

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

