What I’ll be watching this season

Now I know I’m a tad late with this but regardless I still wanted to make one. I haven’t had much time to be able to watch anime lately and because of my college classes starting back up in August, I might not be able to post as often. So I’m not sure if I’ll be doing any episode reviews this season. I might do one for Shokugeki no Souma but I haven’t decided yet. Now this list will be rather small, I have a massive back log of anime I still need to finish and review. But let’s get right into it!

Sweetness and Lightning:CKDfs8NVEAAhuKD

I read the bio for this one and immediately fell in love with it. I really liked Usagi Drop and the plot of the story. A single parent trying to balance work and play while trying to learn how to cook for his daughter and having a female student of his help him with that. You don’t see many anime with a story like this. The animation and atmosphere of the story is really calming and I think this is going to be my relax anime where I (hopefully) know that nothing extremely bad is going to happen. Another thing I like about the story is that I’m completely OK with whatever direction the creator chooses to go with it. Whether they just make food together and enrich each others lives on a Platonic level, or if things get romantic. Both directions I would enjoy watching. Which isn’t something I can say about all the anime airing this season.

Shokugeki no Souma:shokugeki-no-soma-is-a-manga-created-by-tsukada-yuuto

Now I posted about this some time ago and my feelings haven’t changed. I loved the first season and I’m so excited for this one! I love that art style, the characters (Erina is love, Erina is life!), and the overall story. You don’t see many food centered anime with such an intense story and plot points. I am consistently blown away by the dishes that are made in the show and the fact that they go into detail on how the dishes are made. It makes me want to learn the real nitty gritty of cooking.

Orange:1455637455-0ccfb50f70f06af64cbb84ced05b4779

I haven’t watched the first episode yet but from the description it sounds interesting and heartbreaking. Getting notes from your future self about events in your life. I’ve seen it before but for me, how the characters pan out and how the story is told is what I really care about. I have a feeling that this show is going to be sad at the end. Something will happen and I’ll probably cry like a bitch… but I accept my fate.

Handa-kun:80752

This was a coincidence that I looked into this one. I’m not really into the slice of life genre but the way they broke the fourth wall in the first episode and how it’s structured is pretty funny. The idea that a super popular student thinks he’s being bullied is really comical to me and I can’t wait to see the hilarity that ensues. I wonder if it will stay light hearted or get serious or romantic. From the first episode it doesn’t look like it will get serious at all.

Re-Life:99f575bb17ea422b88c60b949a5d7ba2

I like the concept and the fact that all the episodes are already out. From what I’ve heard on forums and twitter, this show gets serious. I like a good drama and I haven’t heard too many bad things about it so I figured I’d give it a shot. Makes it easier to pick up since all the episodes are out, if I really love I can just binge it. I like that I have that option.

Hybrid x Heart Magias Academy Ataraxia:b471a4a4490

I know nothing about this show. Looks like another generic ecchi, harem, fanservice show. But I need my weekly dose of lewd and a show where I can turn my brain off. I expect weak plot points, plot holes, a shitty ending, and lots of fanservice! Hell Yeah! OH and character tropes, lots of character tropes!

Planetarian:planetarian

I am a huge fan of astronomy, so hearing about this show makes me excited. Even though I’m sure most of the screen time will not be about astronomy, planetariums, or the stars but my interest has been piqued. The plot looks interesting, an abandoned world with this robot that is awaiting a customer and when a boy comes around looting, the robot surprises him and convinces him to help rebuild this planetarium so they can see the stars. Sounds slightly romantic but I need a good dose of romance. Hopefully it turns out ok.

Some honorable mentions that I’m still on the fence about or might wait till most of the episodes are out are: Taboo tattoo, momkuri, Berserk, Aldermin on the sky, Rewrite, Qualidea Code, Ange Vierge, and first love monster. Let me know if there are any other good shows out there that I should watch or if I should watch any of the honorable mentions, some look good but I don’t know if they’re worth the time. I love to hear what you guys think about everything anime! Let me know!

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I truly got into this article. I found it to
    be interesting as well as loaded with special points of view.
    I love to read material that makes me think. Many thanks for writing this great content.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

