A Certain Magical Index: Ground Level

I’ve been putting off this show for quite some time now. I know it is a great show, I’ve heard nothing but great things about it. I finally have time to start this show and hopefully I’ll be able to finish this in a timely manner.

From the first 4 episodes, not much has been made completely made apparent about the universe. There are witches and super natural occurrences, these are common. Touma, our male MC, is a high school student in Academy city in Japan. He currently stands with the lowest psychic ranking, zero. Although he has a weird power of being able to negate magic with his right hand.

462805
So cute! Mikoto and Index

Mikoto Misaka, a young girl who gives an example of Touma’s power and ability in the first episode. Not much screen time has been given to her so far. I’m sure she’s pretty pivotal later on considering she is in the cover artwork of the show. She also has tsundere tendencies and I can’t complain about that. I’m severely lacking on my tsundere girls recently.

Index, our female MC, a small frail looking young girl dressed in a nun outfit. She has a happy personality who has memorized the entire forbidden grimoire volumes. A huge selection of books about different spells. The reason people are after her is that for every spell, there is a counter-spell. One that can essentially override the enemy spell and stop it. She is being chased by a group that just so happens to be the people she grew up with!

602bd03b3b60e12de6122a6972d1ef0a1401509577_full
Kaori Kanzaki 10/10 would bang

Kaori Kanzaki is one of those people. Due to massive amount of brain capacity needed for Index to store all the volumes, every year she must have her memory wiped of all but the spell volumes. Kaori hates doing this but it must be done. This is where episode 4 left us. I’m torn on where she will go as a character. My gut instinct is that she will realize that what she is doing is wrong and switch sides, which is ultimately what will happen I’m sure. On the other hand I think it would be interesting if she did erase the memory of Index and they started over with a clean slate. That would be pretty cool too.

So far the show is very good and very well animated. I know I’m going to enjoy the rest of the series, it has most of the things I enjoy seeing in an anime. Likable characters, good plot points, pretty animation, well choreographed fight scenes, sad moments, and cute girls. The structure of the show seems very solid from what I’ve seen so far and I hope it increases from here. The only thing I’m scared of is like No Game No Life, I’ve heard they don’t have a conclusive ending after the 2nd season finale. So I’ll most likely have to start reading the light novels. Other than that, I have no quarrels about the show so far. What should I be on the lookout for?

I have the first volume of the light novel as well. Should I read that first? They look good. This franchise in general looks really good. I hope I’m not over hyping the show. Either way this is definitely a show I would recommend you watch if you haven’t already.

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

