learning a language is fun!

I’ve been fascinated by the idea of learning a language. When I was younger, it was because I thought I would look cool in front of people or make me look sophisticated. I think everyone has something like that early on in life though. Another reason was I had to take two years of a language to graduate from high school. My first encounter with language learning was in high school. I had to pick between french, German, and Spanish. Since they didn’t have the language I was actually interested in, which was Russian, I went with what sounded like the easiest, Spanish. I studied that for two whole years, I don’t remember how to form a sentence in Spanish anymore. That’s how little I cared.

Detail of Palacio de Comunicaciones at Plaza de Cibeles in Madri
Detail of Palacio de Comunicaciones at Plaza de Cibeles in Madrid, Spain

The fact that I really was uninterested with Spanish is the reason I never kept up with it. I knew that I had no plans to work in a company that required Spanish as a language, I wanted to be a physicist and work at Cal Tech. funny how things change. Anyway, after I graduated high school, I looked into Italian and Russian. They both interested me and I also wanted to visit both countries some day. Although as the weeks went by and my studying was bearing no fruit, I eventually gave up. I wish I would’ve stuck with it though. I still want to learn Russian but that will be after the set of languages I want to learn more first.

moscow-russia-kremlin-city-3654
Moscow, Russia

So now as a college student, the thought of being out in the real world scares me. I put a lot of thought into it and I finally decided that I want to be an international salesmen or work in the marketing department for international firms. My goal is to work in the Asian countries as a salesmen or marketer. With that, I need to learn 3 languages; Chinese (mostly Mandarin), Korean, and Japanese. I decided to start with the one I like the most, Japanese.

I have been learning Japanese for about two months now. I have to say that it’s not easy. But by no means is it as hard as a lot of people make it out to be. yes, it is written with characters and scripts rather than letters. But to be frankly honest, The different sounds you make are vastly reduced compared to English. So far I know and understand how to pronounce the Hiragana and Katakana Characters in Japanese. I can’t quite string them to make actual words quite yet. I’m currently working on learning different Kanji (characters taken from the Mandarin and Cantonese) since most Japanese sentences are written with a lot of them. I know a handful of words in Japanese and I am learning how to structure sentences correctly. 663912a16aa8af2c94b11e33efb43ad65f9fa275_hq

I have been having a lot of fun making this journey to finally learn another language. My overall goal is to get good enough to be able to read light novels in Japanese and be able to hold conversations with people in Japanese. Learning a language that really interests you is also a great way to learn more about their culture and their way of life. I hope the next time I post about my language journey I’ll be able to speak it and not just read and write it.

I hope you all enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

