Thought prisons

This will be a serious look on thought prisons and the beauty/horror of them.

I have been going on a spiritual journey in the past few weeks. I have been expanding my mind in order to better myself emotionally, mentally and professionally. I’m not 100% sure if any of this will make sense but this has been on my mind now since the start of my journey.

The concept of thought prisons can be complex to understand. I plan on doing the best I can at explaining it. Thought prisons are essentially your ideas about how you view the universe and the reality around you that you represent to yourself as factual (ex. whether or not you believe in the big bang theory, extraterrestrial life, or religion). What makes them thought “prisons” is that your ego sets these prisons for you. Your ego decides what you believe is right and wrong and for the better part of your life, you will stay true to your beliefs. Now, I’m not saying that is a bad thing. People can live fulfilling lives in their thought prisons.

EmilysQuotes.Com-free-prison-mind-false-thoughts-wisdom-thinking-Philip-Arnold

But what if you break out? What happens when you challenge the beliefs that you have been clinging to for your whole life? I went through this a couple years ago. It was a long time coming though. I am fairly open with a lot of things, but one thing that I never considered to be false was the validity of higher education. Most of my family has four-year degrees in assorted different focuses (mostly centered around teaching). I always thought that after high school, you go to college, graduate, get a job, start a family, work until you can afford to retire and so on. This was what I thought to be normal, but when I got a full-time job the summer before I moved out for college really changed how I see life. I was working a shit job at minimum wage, 40 hours a week, oh and it was the overnight shift too (ugh, it hurts just thinking about it!). At the time it wasn’t so bad. I had never seen that kind of cash flow before, I was able to afford a lot of things that I wanted. It made me think about not going to college. I thought, “hey, this isn’t so bad. If I work long enough I can save up enough money to move out and find a better job and move on from there.” I loved learning and knowledge but hated school. To this day I still believe the K-12 school system is severely flawed in America.

I’m so glad I still decided to go to college, but that thought of not going was something I could not get out of my head. The idea of living a successful and fulfilling life without a college degree. Some of you reading this may be thinking “of course you can live a fulfilling life without a college degree.” While yes, that is true, that is the beauty of thought prisons. What I perceive as “normal” is not to someone else and you yourself hold the key to unlocking your mind. If you just begin to believe that nothing is factual and virtually anything can debated, life becomes very interesting and profound. You start questioning everything. How does the universe work? Are black holes really just monsters that roam the galaxy sucking everything up in its wake? Or are they alternate universes that, just like ours, are expanding because the black hole is sucking up matter from this universe? Are there an infinite number of universes that are constantly expanding and contracting into each other? Is this door really solid? Or are the atoms and strings and super strings, from string and super string theory, moving at such a high speed that my hand cannot pass through it? (I think I’ve fallen too far down the rabbit hole). I think you get the point.

What I’m trying to say is that you are totally in control of your senses and your thoughts but you don’t fully realize it. Your ego protects you from what it believes is threatening to itself. If you can take a step back and see what your ego is hiding from you, you will begin to see life from a whole new perspective. It is truly life changing. When you decide to not let those thoughts that your ego has put in front of you run your life, that is when you unlock the door to the prison. Doing this allows you to come and go as you like. What makes this so life changing is that you are now able to think and act in ways that your ego has not allowed. Things that you found frightening or scary may not seem scary anymore. The excuses you used to use in order to rationalize your behavior or actions suddenly fall apart. Why? because the veil that has absorbed your consciousness has fallen. Nothing is forbidden and you are liberated from your own little world to a vast universe. Instead of looking through the cell bars of the prison to the outside world, you are an explorer of the outside world.

I’m not sure how often I plan on posting about topics like this. Probably just when I feel the want to express what I’m going through currently. I am a very spiritual person and I find what I am discovering is very fascinating, I want to share it with all of you!

Hope you enjoyed! Have a wonderful day!

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

